General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.

The Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP). Due to the nature of the detailed due diligence, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, you will be asked to schedule an appointment (for New and Renewal, Temporary and Address Change applications). Please note that you will be asked to pay now to reserve your appointment.

The application must be submitted to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant resides or to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business.

 

  • For a NEW CHP , you will be asked to schedule fingerprint appointment.
  • If you are applying for a CHP RENEWAL, you may not apply until 120 days prior to the expiration date shown on your current CHP.
  • LATE RENEWAL applications will be accepted up to 6 months after the expiration date shown on the current CHP. If your permit is more than 6 months expired then you must begin the process with a new application, to include the $100 new application fee and a valid training certificate less than 10 years old.
  • If your CHP is lost, stolen or destroyed, you must contact the agency where the permit was issued within 3 business days.

 

Pricing:

Type of Permit Fee

New CHP

$100.00
Renew CHP $35.00
Late Renewal (within 6 months) $50.00
Duplicate - Lost Permit $0.00 
Address Change $0.00 
  • For credit card transactions a nominal credit card transaction fee will be charged for each transaction. Charges will be viewable prior to transaction completion.
  • Fingerprinting is required for an original Concealed Handgun Permit. Appointments for fingerprinting are available Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays
  • Click the appropriate button on the left of the screen to proceed with an application for a Concealed Handgun Permit.

 

Please note that this website is optimized for IE 9.0 and higher, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

Concealed Handgun Permit Information



Concealed Handgun Permit Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Completing the Application

The application packet is to be read thoroughly and the application completed in full. Upon completion, the application must be submitted to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant resides or to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business.

Requirements

The applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • Is a legal resident of the State of Colorado. A person, who is a member of the Armed Forces and is stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state, and a member of the person’s immediate family living in Colorado, shall be deemed to be a legal resident of the State of Colorado.
  • Is twenty-one years of age or older.
  • Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section C.R.S. 18-12-108 or Federal Law.
  • Has not been convicted of perjury under section C.R.S. 18-8-503, in relation to information provided or deliberately omitted on a permit application.
  • Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant’s normal faculties are impaired.
  • Is not an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined in section C.R.S. 18- 18-102(5). Whether an applicant is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance shall be determined as provided in Federal Law and Regulations.
  • Federal Law 18 USC 922(g) (3) prohibits any person who is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance from shipping, transporting, receiving, or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the Controlled Substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance, and there are no exceptions in Federal Law for marijuana purportedly used for medicinal purposes, even if such use is sanctioned by State Law. Further, Federal Law 18 USC 922(d) (3) makes it unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to any person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that such person is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting the following:

  1. Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service.
  2. Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor.
  3. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application.
  4. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.
  5. A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.
  6. A training certificate from a “handgun training class” (see definitions) obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the original training certificate or a photocopy thereof that includes the original signature of the class instructor. In obtaining a training certificate from a handgun training class, the applicant shall have discretion in selecting which handgun training class to complete.  Online training classes do not qualify.

Certificates must contain the applicant’s name, course name, date of the course and the instructor’s printed name, and original signature.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY

Accepted forms of residency are:

  • Government-Issued Photo ID
  • Driver’s License
  • Current Utility Bill
  • Bank Statement
  • Residential Lease, or Rental Contract
  • Car Registration
  • Notarized affidavit of residency

PHOTOGRAPH REQUIREMENTS

For new and renewal concealed handgun permit applications, the applicant must include a photograph for the permit card. The photograph must meet the following requirements:

  • Full frontal view color photograph of applicant’s head displaying applicant's full head, including hair and facial features.
  • Use a plain white or off-white background and remove sunglasses for the photo. 
  • Taken within thirty days immediately preceding submittal of the permit application.
  • The photo should be in JPG format.

 

DOCUMENTATION MUST HAVE THE ADDRESS LISTED

If your current address is not reflected on your Driver’s License or ID, another form of residency will be required.

ALL documents presented must be dated within 1 to 2 months of your application date.

NOTE: To meet the requirements for proof of residency we suggest bringing more documentation than is necessary. Junk mail or bulk mailing (coupons, weekly mailers, advertising, credit card bills etc.) and any hand-written documents are not acceptable as proof of address documentation.


For More Information, Contact:

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
200 Jefferson County Pkwy
Golden, CO 80401

Phone: 303-271-5542
Fax: 303-271-5552
Email: CHPrecords@jeffco.us

 

For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Email: help@permitium.com
Phone: 855-642-2453